Cutting the cord?

Discussion in 'Home, Auto, and Computer Tech' started by Zambo, Aug 6, 2017.

  1. URGatorBait
    Devilish

    URGatorBait #TeamCasey
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    24,091
    Oxbucks:
    $981
    Ratings:
    +11,047 / -171
    So the Browns at the Bucs is on Fox right now, and even though I am only 92 miles, it is blocking that game for me.

    Interestingly enough, I can see the Rams and the Chargers, two LA teams, fine on CBS on Vue.

    Schit makes no damn sense :lol:

    Easy enough fix though, I just hooked up the indoor OTA antenna.
    I get ABC, CBS, and FOX clearly on it, just not NBC, so I should be fine most of the time.
     
  2. URGatorBait
    Devilish

    URGatorBait #TeamCasey
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    24,091
    Oxbucks:
    $981
    Ratings:
    +11,047 / -171
  3. URGatorBait
    Devilish

    URGatorBait #TeamCasey
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    24,091
    Oxbucks:
    $981
    Ratings:
    +11,047 / -171
    not seeing it anywhere on my Fire devices, so maybe they were just doing some testing on it.

    Will be nice if they can get it worked out.
     
  4. TheDouglas78

    TheDouglas78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    9,185
    Oxbucks:
    $1,271
    Ratings:
    +4,458 / -36
    I saw the article over the weekend, I believe I saw it was in the between testing and before release. Should be out relatively soon.
     
    • GatorJ
      Amused

      GatorJ Hopeful
      Moderator

      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2014
      Messages:
      13,311
      Oxbucks:
      $2,193
      Ratings:
      +9,954 / -69
      So I've had PS Vue for a long time. It looks like they have local channels now. I got rid of them about two months ago.

      Problem was I wasn't saving that much money.

      Vue: 54
      Internet: 65
      HBO GO: 15
      CBS: 7
      Total: $141

      Frontier: $145 - includes all the above plus I get Cinemax and Showtime. And it's a lot more seamless and integrated IMO.
       
    • TheDouglas78

      TheDouglas78 Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Jun 12, 2014
      Messages:
      9,185
      Oxbucks:
      $1,271
      Ratings:
      +4,458 / -36
      Vue: 35
      Internet: 35
      HBO GO: 15
      Had CBS, ABC, NBC, and Fox on anteanna until a month ago, only missing NBC on Vue now. The two or three screens is awesome during football season.
      Total: $85
       
    • URGatorBait
      Devilish

      URGatorBait #TeamCasey
      Lifetime Member

      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2014
      Messages:
      24,091
      Oxbucks:
      $981
      Ratings:
      +11,047 / -171
      Is 145 the introductory price or the long term price?

      When i had introductory pricing (or even customer retaining pricing) I couldn't justify it either under BH and then Spectrum. After that went away, Spectrum absolutely would not work with me, and was going to cost me almost 192 dollars a month to keep what I had when I was paying 134 a month.

      Now I just have PS vue, which offers all 4 majors plus mytv 65 as live channels. Pay 54.99 for the elite and 64.95 for Spectrum internet. for just under 120 a month. So i am saving 72 dollars a month now. Of course when it would have only been 14 dollars a month AND ps vue hadn't yet added all the live locals, it just wasn't worth it.


      btw, for anyone else that has ps vue, do any of you use the mobile app for it? I noticed that in the elite package, I can get every channel (while NOT on my home network) except CBS Sports Network, Decades, and Pop channel.
      Local CBS comes through.
      I am not sure what was or wasnt available before because I just went through it entirely for the first time.
      It also drains the hell out of your battery, so you better be plugged in if you use it :lol:
       
    • GatorJ
      Amused

      GatorJ Hopeful
      Moderator

      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2014
      Messages:
      13,311
      Oxbucks:
      $2,193
      Ratings:
      +9,954 / -69
      So I have PS Vue for a long time. It looks like they have local channels now. I got rid of them about two months ago.

      Problem was I wasn't saving that much money.

      Vue: 54
      Internet: 65
      HBO GO: 15
      CBS: 7
      Total: $141

      Frontier: $145 - includes all the above plus I get Cinemax and Showtime. And it's a lot more seamless and integrated IMO.
      Long term. It surprised me. It must be because of so many people switching to these other platforms.
       
      • GatorJ
        Amused

        GatorJ Hopeful
        Moderator

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        13,311
        Oxbucks:
        $2,193
        Ratings:
        +9,954 / -69
        I'll tell you whatvkills you. It's not the cable packages. It's the DVR. Renting the DVR across multiple rooms adds like 35 or $40 to final bill.
         
      • URGatorBait
        Devilish

        URGatorBait #TeamCasey
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        24,091
        Oxbucks:
        $981
        Ratings:
        +11,047 / -171
        We had a single DVR, though it was enhanced DVR, not multi room.
        Problem is, you need a box for every tv you want to use, that adds up also.
        We could have downgraded the DVR, we still needed a DVR to appease the wife. PS Vue answers that along with most of the other need/wants.

        I am just glad to see so much competition. Now it looks like Verizon and Amazon are trying to get in on it too. Each is pushing the other to provide more for the dollar, and options are good :thumbup:
         
      • URGatorBait
        Devilish

        URGatorBait #TeamCasey
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        24,091
        Oxbucks:
        $981
        Ratings:
        +11,047 / -171
      • Gatormac2112
        Breezy

        Gatormac2112 The Voice of Reason
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Sep 7, 2014
        Messages:
        902
        Oxbucks:
        $202
        Ratings:
        +920 / -3
        I dropped DirecTV about 20 months ago. We just weren't watching anything and paying $150+ per month was ridiculous. I've done the $20 sling package and that worked for us, but I hated the UI/interface. It was very clunky. I've been using DirecTV Now for $35 per month, still not perfect, but better than sling IMO. I use an OTA antenna for locals.

        Either way, I haven't missed the cable/satellite one bit.
         
      • Gatormac2112
        Breezy

        Gatormac2112 The Voice of Reason
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Sep 7, 2014
        Messages:
        902
        Oxbucks:
        $202
        Ratings:
        +920 / -3
        Good to know! I'm sure I haven't changed services for the last time :)
         
      • Zambo

        Zambo Poo Flinger
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 12, 2014
        Messages:
        5,384
        Oxbucks:
        $1,129
        Ratings:
        +8,237 / -33
        Man I finally pulled the trigger and switched from ATT Uverse to Cox cable. I went from internet speed of 14 down and 2 up to about 320 down and 35 up! Holy crap what a difference.

        If I can get this type speed dependably I see no reason why I couldn't just get Directv Now, or the YouTube deal and just pay 35 bucks a month for all the channels. The ATT guy knew I was gonna switch when I was talking to him about my internet speed in the store and he offered me the Directv Now subscription for half price. That is 35 bucks for pretty much every channel they have.
         
      • URGatorBait
        Devilish

        URGatorBait #TeamCasey
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        24,091
        Oxbucks:
        $981
        Ratings:
        +11,047 / -171
        For a solid 1080 res stream, 10 mbps is sufficient per streaming device. You may never really need over 300 mbps, however the large buffer is nice, especially for times of having lots of devices on at the same time, or at peak times during the day.

        Take a look at all the streaming services, as they all offer a little something different from the next, but they are all constantly competing with each other and either adding features or improving their offerings or lineups.

        This site is great for keeping up with the latest goings on in the cord cutter news department
        http://cordcuttersnews.com/
         
      • Swamp Donkey
        Horny

        Swamp Donkey poundmetoo!
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 9, 2014
        Messages:
        31,785
        Oxbucks:
        $9,569
        Ratings:
        +32,543 / -991
        The problem I see with your math is that you are going to pay for the internet ANYWAY, right?
         
      • GatorJ
        Amused

        GatorJ Hopeful
        Moderator

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        13,311
        Oxbucks:
        $2,193
        Ratings:
        +9,954 / -69
        Correct. The $145 includes the internet. I use Frontier FIOS
         
      • NVGator

        NVGator Member
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        7,060
        Oxbucks:
        $1,169
        Ratings:
        +4,990 / -115
      • TheDouglas78

        TheDouglas78 Well-Known Member

        Joined:
        Jun 12, 2014
        Messages:
        9,185
        Oxbucks:
        $1,271
        Ratings:
        +4,458 / -36
        I picked up around 74 channels with my OTA, and a lot of them are the sub channels, like I have 8 CBS channels, only one is the main CBS, 4 Fox channels, only one being Fox 13, etc...
         
      • Jbossgator8
        Sunshine

        Jbossgator8 Senior Member
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        2,325
        Oxbucks:
        $557
        Ratings:
        +1,648 / -141
        So is it too much trouble to switch out of Spectrum to something else? Our HOA has an agreement with Spectrum so I don't think we can drop them all together
         

      Share This Page

      Chat

      Help

      You don't have the necessary permissions to use the chat.

      1. There are currently no users chatting.