Tech Help: why is my wifi...

Discussion in 'Home, Auto, and Computer Tech' started by Detroitgator, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. Detroitgator

    Detroitgator General Factotum
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    9,482
    Oxbucks:
    $65
    Ratings:
    +6,614 / -9
    Suddenly not letting me access Gatorchatter on any device connected to my wifi?
     
  2. NavetG8r

    NavetG8r Stupid
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    13,083
    Oxbucks:
    $472
    Ratings:
    +9,305 / -61
  3. chferg

    chferg #KellyToTheSwamp

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,009
    Oxbucks:
    $5
    Ratings:
    +1,681 / -72
    Network issues are my Achilles.

    Would love to help but not sure what the issue is

    Sent from my VS988 using Gatorchatter mobile app
     
  4. URGatorBait

    URGatorBait Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    23,323
    Oxbucks:
    $47
    Ratings:
    +10,106 / -161
    only Gatorchatter and nothing else is blocked?
     
  5. Detroitgator

    Detroitgator General Factotum
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    9,482
    Oxbucks:
    $65
    Ratings:
    +6,614 / -9
    It's what I noticed first! I think it's either my Orbi or the Mediacom router... I'm going to rest them in the morning and I'll update you. Thanks for the reply and thanks to @NavetG8r for moving it here.
     
  6. TLB

    TLB Fall is here
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    4,114
    Oxbucks:
    $94
    Ratings:
    +2,577 / -32
    Send me all your logins and passwords and I'll see what (damage) I can do.

    More seriously, run through the usual checks to isolate the root issue:

    Try multiple devices (PC, tablet, phone) on the wifi in the house.
    - - determine if it is wifi router vs a specific device
    IF the problem exists only on one device = Try multiple browsers on that device on the wifi in the house.
    - - determine if it is a browser issue
    IF the problem is only on one device with one browser = we can fix the settings in that browser
    IF the problem is only on one device with all browsers = we can fix the device settings
    IF the problem is on multiple devices = we can fix the router settings

    Try multiple web sites, not just GCMB, as that will also indicate what kind of problem it is. If you know ip addresses for some of those sites try going to the site name VS going to the ip address and see if the same result occurs.
     
  7. Detroitgator

    Detroitgator General Factotum
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    9,482
    Oxbucks:
    $65
    Ratings:
    +6,614 / -9
    It was the firmware update for the Orbi.... now, oddly, everything else that wasn't working is fine EXCEPT Gatorchatter! No joy yet
     
  8. URGatorBait

    URGatorBait Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    23,323
    Oxbucks:
    $47
    Ratings:
    +10,106 / -161
    Have you tried turning it off, and back on :snicker:

    just kidding.

    I've heard of some host server issues similar to this, but with this last post, i'm not sure.
     
  9. Detroitgator

    Detroitgator General Factotum
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    9,482
    Oxbucks:
    $65
    Ratings:
    +6,614 / -9
    It's odd... not working on any platform and not in app, safari, chrome..
     
  10. TheDouglas78

    TheDouglas78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8,467
    Oxbucks:
    $63
    Ratings:
    +3,747 / -28
    when is the last time you firmware was updated, and did those updates include security?
     
  11. TLB

    TLB Fall is here
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    4,114
    Oxbucks:
    $94
    Ratings:
    +2,577 / -32
    any platform meaning phone/tablet/pc/etc? If so then the block is at the router.

    Who is your ISP? I had issues with comcast forever where they would lose the DNS lookups and couldn't connect me to certain sites (including this one) and I had to manually configure to other DNS servers or go to IP addresses direct.

    Does your router have it's own firewall? Most do, aside from what Windows is running....and this would match your description of multiple platforms (meaning the router is the problem).


    It is possible you are having DNS issues from your provider (possible) or your router suddenly decided to block gatorchatter (not likely, but in the realm of possible).
     
  12. URGatorBait

    URGatorBait Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    23,323
    Oxbucks:
    $47
    Ratings:
    +10,106 / -161
    I thought he said here, but it must have been in the chatterbox, but he said there was a recent firmware update and that's when things changed.
     

Share This Page

Chat

Help

You don't have the necessary permissions to use the chat.

  1. There are currently no users chatting.
  • About Us

    Our community sprung up when the Gatorsports message board was shut down in the summer of 2014. We pride ourselves on offering Gator-biased, yet critical discussion among people of all different backgrounds. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Gator message board you will find.
  • Quick Navigation

  • Buy us a Zima!

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a non-alcoholic Zima? We'd really appreciate it! Just click the "Donate" tab at the top of the page.