VOIP, Anybody using internet phones ?

grengadgy

Founding Member
Lifetime Member
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
I have been using the OBi202 and Google Voice for about four years now. It gives great service and no monthly telephone bill. :)

grengadgy

Founding Member
Lifetime Member
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
I thought that this would be of interest but maybe nobody has landlines and fax anymore. I was able to plug my house telephone line into this box and all my phone jacks worked. Fully programmable for any voip out there.. This model has 4 internal line capability and 2 wired phone jacks on the back.

2441847_sa.jpg;canvasHeight=550;canvasWidth=642

Last edited:

GatorJ

Founding Member
Hopeful
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
Nevermind. I see you put the name of the product in the OP. How's the reliability and quality?

grengadgy

Founding Member
Lifetime Member
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
Nevermind. I see you put the name of the product in the OP. How's the reliability and quality?
I used NetTALK (similar to Magicjack) for a year and it was okay at times and terrible sometimes . Then I swapped to the Obi202 and it has been great for four years. It has been trouble free while my brother-in-law has had Vonage , T Mobile, and now Comcast voip all of which he had trouble . The original cost was about $70 on Amazon and I chose to use Google Voice for free. There are a lot of voip that you can pay for that the Obi202 will accept pre-programed but unit is fully programmable . I always look at Amazon's reviews on everything .

GatorJ

Founding Member
Hopeful
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
I just got Brighthouse 200mbps for $58.

I bought PlayStation Vue (decent UI), and I'm going to get an HD Tuner/DVR for my OTA. Then I'll get rid of Frontier FIOS. My monthly charges will drop from $150/month to $92/month. And my Internet speed will double.

GatorJ

Founding Member
Hopeful
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
I have VOIP. I'll probably look at this as a substitute.

grengadgy