Where they are now: Erron Kinney

BMF

Bad Mother....
Lifetime Member
Sep 8, 2014
Former Gator TE Erron Kinney: This is a cool story. It's been documented that he wanted to be a firefighter after his NFL career ended, and he's done extremely well! He's had a heck of a rise through the fire service ranks. As a former professional firefighter myself, I admire his passion for the job. He's held the title of Fire Chief for two departments and was named Fire Chief for the City of Sherborn (Mass) in June 2017. Nice mention of Billy Donovan at the bottom of this article:

Sherborn’s new fire chief was once in the NFL

https://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/r...as-once-nfl/2nbjGI5zYNGD8bYDA7VifO/story.html

It might have taken a giant leap of faith to predict Erron Kinney would carve out a nice career in the National Football League. Ironically, it’s less of a stretch that Kinney would wind up as Sherborn’s fire chief.

“I hadn’t really thought about it that way,” said Kinney, 39, who was appointed fire chief in January, and has since made monthly visits to Sherborn. He signed a five-year contract and officially takes over July 1.

He and his wife, Julie, who is from Arlington and attended the Winsor School in Boston, are house-hunting. A town with a solid girls’ basketball program is a priority. Their 6-foot-2 daughter Geanna, is a high school freshman and a promising player. “I’ve looked at Medfield and Natick High,” said Kinney. Both programs have been successful recently.

Kinney played a lot of sports when he was a kid growing up in Richmond, Va. Football wasn’t one of them. “When I was 10, my brother Earl bought me a pair of cleats. So my dad signed me up for youth football.”

His father, Dr. John Kinney, dean and professor of theology at Virginia Union, and Earl, Erron’s older brother by 13 years, played football at Howard University.