Windows 10 Restore Points

Discussion in 'Home, Auto, and Computer Tech' started by grengadgy, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. grengadgy
    No Mood

    grengadgy Dubs' Agent
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5,037
    Oxbucks:
    $0
    Ratings:
    +1,855 / -20
    The System Restore isn't turned on in Windows 10 by default
     
    #1 grengadgy, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  2. pilot-in-fla

    pilot-in-fla Deplorable
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15,413
    Oxbucks:
    $759
    Ratings:
    +4,540 / -72
    I just checked and mine has the restore feature enabled but I did upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 7 which might make a difference.
     
  3. pilot-in-fla

    pilot-in-fla Deplorable
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15,413
    Oxbucks:
    $759
    Ratings:
    +4,540 / -72
    It had three restore points from the earliest of 8/24 to the latest which is 9/1.

    I started using Win 10 shortly after it was officially released and it has been a very solid performer for me.
     
  4. Swamp Donkey
    Horny

    Swamp Donkey 79.2% Sarcasm and 41.8% Full of Shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,907
    Oxbucks:
    $8,419
    Ratings:
    +31,379 / -738
    Too late for me. Win 10 bricked my son's older computer (like a 2010 vintage) due to one of those automatic download things.

    It took me four days. I got all my data using Linux to save the day, but Im done with this shyt. Ended up having to do a complete clean restore to Win 7. Win 10 just looped and looped. Couldnt get it into a safe mode or get to any restore points. Its just not worth the hassle.
     
    #4 Swamp Donkey, Dec 18, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016
  5. itsgr82bag8r
    Twisted

    itsgr82bag8r Political Forum Fire Starter
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    12,633
    Oxbucks:
    $981
    Ratings:
    +7,201 / -41
    My personal laptop will ride the Win 7 train until its' last day. Screw the upgrade.
     
    • Gatordiddy
      Amused

      Gatordiddy Fondling Member
      Lifetime Member

      Joined:
      Jul 23, 2014
      Messages:
      3,156
      Oxbucks:
      $641
      Ratings:
      +3,185 / -6
      [​IMG]
       
      • Swamp Donkey
        Horny

        Swamp Donkey 79.2% Sarcasm and 41.8% Full of Shyt
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 9, 2014
        Messages:
        30,907
        Oxbucks:
        $8,419
        Ratings:
        +31,379 / -738
        It's not just antivirus. It was screwing with the boot sector and the partitions.

        I'm done.

        Not sure if I could dowload the iso anyway. It says I need a license, not sure if my free upgrade counts for that.
         
      • Swamp Donkey
        Horny

        Swamp Donkey 79.2% Sarcasm and 41.8% Full of Shyt
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 9, 2014
        Messages:
        30,907
        Oxbucks:
        $8,419
        Ratings:
        +31,379 / -738
      • Swamp Donkey
        Horny

        Swamp Donkey 79.2% Sarcasm and 41.8% Full of Shyt
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 9, 2014
        Messages:
        30,907
        Oxbucks:
        $8,419
        Ratings:
        +31,379 / -738
        It installed correctly and ran for a few months. Then it did a magical upgrade and started looping. Never would fix itself, return to a previous settings, or even go into safe mode. It just had the circle of dots thing going on forever.

        Between the two W10 computers however Ive had too many of these problems. Keep it. Even for free its not worth it.
         
      • Swamp Donkey
        Horny

        Swamp Donkey 79.2% Sarcasm and 41.8% Full of Shyt
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 9, 2014
        Messages:
        30,907
        Oxbucks:
        $8,419
        Ratings:
        +31,379 / -738
        Yeah, but, not worth my time. Sorry.

        I don't want to have to pass compTIAA to make my computer run. If the shyt won't run out of the box, screw them.
         
      • URGatorBait
        Devilish

        URGatorBait #TeamCasey
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        23,983
        Oxbucks:
        $800
        Ratings:
        +10,864 / -170
        Never had a problem updating the first time or anything since

        :dance:
         
      • Swamp Donkey
        Horny

        Swamp Donkey 79.2% Sarcasm and 41.8% Full of Shyt
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 9, 2014
        Messages:
        30,907
        Oxbucks:
        $8,419
        Ratings:
        +31,379 / -738
        Gren, it is Avasts product for W10. It works fine on my other three Win10 computers.
         
      • pilot-in-fla

        pilot-in-fla Deplorable
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jan 15, 2015
        Messages:
        15,413
        Oxbucks:
        $759
        Ratings:
        +4,540 / -72
        I've been using Windows Defender which is built in to Win 10 and have had no problems. I'm not sure there is really a generalized need for third party virus scanners these days.
         
      • grengadgy
        No Mood

        grengadgy Dubs' Agent
        Lifetime Member

        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2014
        Messages:
        5,037
        Oxbucks:
        $0
        Ratings:
        +1,855 / -20
        Okay......
         
        #14 grengadgy, Dec 27, 2016
        Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
        • pilot-in-fla

          pilot-in-fla Deplorable
          Lifetime Member

          Joined:
          Jan 15, 2015
          Messages:
          15,413
          Oxbucks:
          $759
          Ratings:
          +4,540 / -72
          Hey, I was just figuring if you were a heavy porn user, you might need something to supplement Windows Defender.
           
        • URGatorBait
          Devilish

          URGatorBait #TeamCasey
          Lifetime Member

          Joined:
          Jun 11, 2014
          Messages:
          23,983
          Oxbucks:
          $800
          Ratings:
          +10,864 / -170
        • grengadgy
          No Mood

          grengadgy Dubs' Agent
          Lifetime Member

          Joined:
          Jun 11, 2014
          Messages:
          5,037
          Oxbucks:
          $0
          Ratings:
          +1,855 / -20
          I let that one slide... Windows Defender guarding his computer and a White Meleagris gallopavo guarding his hen house. You can see the reason that I let that slide.:bwahaha:
           
          • Swamp Donkey
            Horny

            Swamp Donkey 79.2% Sarcasm and 41.8% Full of Shyt
            Lifetime Member

            Joined:
            Jun 9, 2014
            Messages:
            30,907
            Oxbucks:
            $8,419
            Ratings:
            +31,379 / -738
            Yes that did draw a chuckle from me also.
             
          • Detroitgator

            Detroitgator General Factotum
            Lifetime Member

            Joined:
            Jul 15, 2014
            Messages:
            10,459
            Oxbucks:
            $1,174
            Ratings:
            +7,724 / -12
            Have same exact issue with one of mine right now... How did you break the looping to do something?
             
          • Detroitgator

            Detroitgator General Factotum
            Lifetime Member

            Joined:
            Jul 15, 2014
            Messages:
            10,459
            Oxbucks:
            $1,174
            Ratings:
            +7,724 / -12
            Thanks... I have everything constantly backing up, so I just reset to factory and reloaded. It wasn't that painful, and I'll keep Windows 10 off of it for now. ;)
             

          Share This Page

          Chat

          Help

          You don't have the necessary permissions to use the chat.