Windows 10 Restore Points

Discussion in 'Home, Auto, and Computer Tech' started by grengadgy, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. grengadgy

    grengadgy Flat-Earther
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5,067
    Oxbucks:
    $43
    Ratings:
    +1,861 / -20
    The System Restore isn't turned on in Windows 10 by default
     
    #1 grengadgy, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  2. pilot-in-fla

    pilot-in-fla Deplorable
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15,176
    Oxbucks:
    $528
    Ratings:
    +4,307 / -72
    I just checked and mine has the restore feature enabled but I did upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 7 which might make a difference.
     
  3. pilot-in-fla

    pilot-in-fla Deplorable
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15,176
    Oxbucks:
    $528
    Ratings:
    +4,307 / -72
    It had three restore points from the earliest of 8/24 to the latest which is 9/1.

    I started using Win 10 shortly after it was officially released and it has been a very solid performer for me.
     
  4. Swamp Donkey

    Swamp Donkey 58.2% sarcasm 51.8% full of shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,249
    Oxbucks:
    $6,237
    Ratings:
    +29,284 / -626
    Too late for me. Win 10 bricked my son's older computer (like a 2010 vintage) due to one of those automatic download things.

    It took me four days. I got all my data using Linux to save the day, but Im done with this shyt. Ended up having to do a complete clean restore to Win 7. Win 10 just looped and looped. Couldnt get it into a safe mode or get to any restore points. Its just not worth the hassle.
     
    #4 Swamp Donkey, Dec 18, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016
  5. itsgr82bag8r

    itsgr82bag8r Political Forum Fire Starter
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    12,298
    Oxbucks:
    $671
    Ratings:
    +6,886 / -41
    My personal laptop will ride the Win 7 train until its' last day. Screw the upgrade.
     
  6. Gatordiddy

    Gatordiddy Fondling Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,119
    Oxbucks:
    $579
    Ratings:
    +3,123 / -6
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Swamp Donkey

    Swamp Donkey 58.2% sarcasm 51.8% full of shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,249
    Oxbucks:
    $6,237
    Ratings:
    +29,284 / -626
    It's not just antivirus. It was screwing with the boot sector and the partitions.

    I'm done.

    Not sure if I could dowload the iso anyway. It says I need a license, not sure if my free upgrade counts for that.
     
  8. Swamp Donkey

    Swamp Donkey 58.2% sarcasm 51.8% full of shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,249
    Oxbucks:
    $6,237
    Ratings:
    +29,284 / -626
  9. Swamp Donkey

    Swamp Donkey 58.2% sarcasm 51.8% full of shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,249
    Oxbucks:
    $6,237
    Ratings:
    +29,284 / -626
    It installed correctly and ran for a few months. Then it did a magical upgrade and started looping. Never would fix itself, return to a previous settings, or even go into safe mode. It just had the circle of dots thing going on forever.

    Between the two W10 computers however Ive had too many of these problems. Keep it. Even for free its not worth it.
     
  10. Swamp Donkey

    Swamp Donkey 58.2% sarcasm 51.8% full of shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,249
    Oxbucks:
    $6,237
    Ratings:
    +29,284 / -626
    Yeah, but, not worth my time. Sorry.

    I don't want to have to pass compTIAA to make my computer run. If the shyt won't run out of the box, screw them.
     
  11. URGatorBait

    URGatorBait Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    23,614
    Oxbucks:
    $420
    Ratings:
    +10,486 / -165
    Never had a problem updating the first time or anything since

    :dance:
     
  12. Swamp Donkey

    Swamp Donkey 58.2% sarcasm 51.8% full of shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,249
    Oxbucks:
    $6,237
    Ratings:
    +29,284 / -626
    Gren, it is Avasts product for W10. It works fine on my other three Win10 computers.
     
  13. pilot-in-fla

    pilot-in-fla Deplorable
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15,176
    Oxbucks:
    $528
    Ratings:
    +4,307 / -72
    I've been using Windows Defender which is built in to Win 10 and have had no problems. I'm not sure there is really a generalized need for third party virus scanners these days.
     
  14. grengadgy

    grengadgy Flat-Earther
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5,067
    Oxbucks:
    $43
    Ratings:
    +1,861 / -20
    Okay......
     
    #14 grengadgy, Dec 27, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  15. pilot-in-fla

    pilot-in-fla Deplorable
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15,176
    Oxbucks:
    $528
    Ratings:
    +4,307 / -72
    Hey, I was just figuring if you were a heavy porn user, you might need something to supplement Windows Defender.
     
  16. URGatorBait

    URGatorBait Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    23,614
    Oxbucks:
    $420
    Ratings:
    +10,486 / -165
  17. grengadgy

    grengadgy Flat-Earther
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5,067
    Oxbucks:
    $43
    Ratings:
    +1,861 / -20
    I let that one slide... Windows Defender guarding his computer and a White Meleagris gallopavo guarding his hen house. You can see the reason that I let that slide.:bwahaha:
     
  18. Swamp Donkey

    Swamp Donkey 58.2% sarcasm 51.8% full of shyt
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,249
    Oxbucks:
    $6,237
    Ratings:
    +29,284 / -626
    Yes that did draw a chuckle from me also.
     
  19. Detroitgator

    Detroitgator General Factotum
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    10,174
    Oxbucks:
    $762
    Ratings:
    +7,312 / -10
    Have same exact issue with one of mine right now... How did you break the looping to do something?
     
  20. Detroitgator

    Detroitgator General Factotum
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    10,174
    Oxbucks:
    $762
    Ratings:
    +7,312 / -10
    Thanks... I have everything constantly backing up, so I just reset to factory and reloaded. It wasn't that painful, and I'll keep Windows 10 off of it for now. ;)
     

Share This Page

Chat

Help

You don't have the necessary permissions to use the chat.

  1. There are currently no users chatting.
  • About Us

    Our community sprung up when the Gatorsports message board was shut down in the summer of 2014. We pride ourselves on offering Gator-biased, yet critical discussion among people of all different backgrounds. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Gator message board you will find.
  • Quick Navigation

  • Buy us a Zima!

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a non-alcoholic Zima? We'd really appreciate it! Just click the "Donate" tab at the top of the page.