Calling All Horologists

Gatorbreath

Founding Member
The original "Breath" of the GCMB.
Lifetime Member
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
Ok guys, a question. I'm turning 50 soon, the wife suggested I upgrade my Rolex. I have two, a Platinum Yachtmaster and a steel Explorer 2. I walked into an AD today, he had a two tone Daytona with a black face at list. He's holding that for me and I'm gonna bring in my two watches. Any idea what will happen with a trade? Never done something like this before.

I wish I could help. I'm still a bit new to this horology thing and am just now turning my attention to the pre-owned market. One of my best friends (oddly, my motorcycle mentor) is a retired jeweler. He owned a store in South Florida but retired years ago (At 48. Tell me there's not money in this stuff... And yes, he is a lot older than I...). His insights during my watch journey have been a little helpful, but he's been out of the game for a long time and luxury watches were only a small part of his practice. His focus was handmade, custom diamond stuff the rich, retired old biddies in SoFla loved. He sold some of his designs for close to $500K. I wish he could help me more, especially as I turn my attention to the used market.

Last edited:

Gatorbreath

Founding Member
The original "Breath" of the GCMB.
Lifetime Member
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
Khaki Navy Scuba Auto ( $439 gray market): Khaki Navy - Khaki Scuba Auto | Hamilton watch

upload_2020-1-20_12-35-56-png.19493

This was delivered to my door last night. The nato strap is different - all of my other watches are on bracelets except my G-Shock. But I am enjoying it so far. It is a lot lighter than my other watches, the case diameter is smaller so it wears a lot smaller. And I have to say, I am excited about the 80 hour power reserve. She'll probably be my daily wear piece for a while.

So, on the list for the remainder of 2020 (sort of in order):
  • A mechanical field watch on a leather or textile strap