Lawn Thatch

Alumni Guy

Lifetime Member
Nov 7, 2015
Proud to say, I just purchased a sweet home.

Unfortunately, the previous owner ignored all lawn care. The yard is full of weeds and other funk.

I’m far from an expert in lawn care, but it looks like I have a thatch overgrowth problem. Lawn is mushy, and trees look like they are dying from lack of H2O.

I looked up how to fix it, and it’s a major pain. They recommend vertical mowing, which is basically shredding your lawn to remove undergrowth. Once done fertilize and maybe reseed to restore healthy grass.

Even though my lawn is a hot mess, I don’t want to shred it, unless I have to.

Anyone got knowledge on this, or a good lawn restoration expert in Palm Beach/Martin Co.

my boy is only 15 months, and I want to give him a good lawn to really play on in a year or so.

Go Gators!

Concrete Helmet

Hook, Line, and Sinker
Lifetime Member
Jul 29, 2014
What kind of grass?
Do you do your own lawn maintenance?
Do you have numerous trees?
Is it more shady than sunny?
Do you have time to work on it yourself?
Do you plan on having it treated regularly?
Do you have an irrigation system?
Are you willing to spend time and or money to install one?

I'm not technically an expert but I did one year as a Lawn an ornamental tech years ago and I do a ton of work on my own lawn even though I have people who maintain and treat it regularly and usually solve any problems with it before they can.....

Last edited:

Detroitgator

Lifetime Member
Jul 15, 2014
What kind of grass?
Do you do your own lawn maintenance?
Do you have numerous trees?
Is it more shady than sunny?
Do you have time to work on it yourself?
Do you plan on having it treated regularly?
Do you have an irrigation system?
Are you willing to spend time and or money to install one?