Litigation, Who Has War Stories?

Alumni Guy

Lifetime Member
Nov 7, 2015
As I’m sure you’re dying to know, I’m an attorney (unfortunately). I’ve had more than my share of cases. It’s been my experience, that unless it’s a decent sized case ($100,000+), it’s basically not worth the stress and expense, even if you win and get your attorneys fees repaid.

For example, I had the chance to sue the person I bought my house from because he concealed major flooring damage. The cost to repair was about $15,000. I tried to force them to settle pre-suit, but they weren’t interested. (Their D-bag attoeny drafted a reply which made no legal sense) I actually paid a lawyer to review my case, and he confirmed that we had a great chance at success.

In the end, wife and I passed on suing because we’d rather have our sanity than $15,000. Probably best money I ever spent.

Just curious, have you ever been in litigation and what was your experience like? Be honest if you lost the case. Also, probably not best to discuss open litigation, you never know who’s reading your post, and technically your post would be an admission which “can and will be used against you in a client of law”

Finally, before you say it, I’ll say it for you: Lawyers Suck. 90% of us hate our job too, and we hate dealing with other lawyers.

LaylaGator

Born to Hate Florida State
Lifetime Member
Feb 28, 2021
@Alumni Guy I am also a litigator, and I agree whole-heartedly with your post. I always try to settle cases for my client when possible, because the expense of trial is rarely worth the end results.

Whenever I accept a new case, I expressly warn the client about the costs of litigation. And then, invariably, they end up complaining about the costs of litigation.

Nalt

Jul 23, 2020