Best Posts in Thread: Stumpy Harris - RIP

1. daytonacane

Oxbucks:
    $1,346
    Ratings:
    +1,711 / -43
    I just received some sad news that Stumpy Harris passed away. I graduated from high school @ Robert E. Lee in Jax w/Stumpy and this year we had tentatively planned our 65th high school reunion. He was a devoted Gator fan & we always teased him about wearing Gator gear to any and ALL functions. He had gator glasses, cuff links, ties, shirts, pants, shoes and fleet of Gator vehicles and even let this Cane fan try on one of his NC Gator rings. In addition, he was a great guy, great attorney, loving husband and father. My heart goes out to his Wife, Ruthie & children. Gator Nation has sadly lost one of their biggest fans. May he rest in peace.

• gator1946

gator1946 Senior Member
      Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
      $2,422
      Ratings:
      +4,118 / -161
      We went to a game without tickets. We stayed in a nice hotel and I tried everything I could to score tickets. No luck. As we were driving trying to figure out what to do next , Ellen said I I've got this. I would never tell her she couldn't do something because then she would do it. So I told her she had no chance. She spotted another upscale hotel and said pull over. I'll be back in ten minutes. Out she comes with three tickets. Of course, as always, she has a new best friend in tow. She continues to chat with him. He asks how often we go to the games. I answer, all the time.

Then I make my big mistake and say this is the first time for my son. (He was twelve). Ellen's new best friend was Stumpy. Stumpy says, twelve and he's never been to a game? He looks at me like I'm Darth Vader and shakes his head. I did not make a good first impression. Thank God for Ellen. Stumpy wouldn't take a dime for the tickets. I spent hours failing she spent ten minutes.

• Theologator

Theologator Enchanter
        Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
        $7,939
        Ratings:
        +9,064 / -123