Tuesday Favorites....Pizza

Alumni Guy

Lifetime Member
Nov 7, 2015
Anthony’s Coal Fires Pizza

It used to be the Paul and young Ron, but I think it changed names. With the spicy peppers, is one of the best pies out there.

and it’s a chain joint, which is a bit of a surprise

-THE DUDE-

Founding Member
This is the year!!!
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
Other than my family’s place...I’d have to go with Denino’s on Staten Island...IT IS PHENOMENAL! Margherita pizza and add sausage

48e4b3c8c4edc08e8569a7fc9379cf64.jpg

MJMGator

Founding Member
Slightly amused
Lifetime Member
Jun 10, 2014
Founding Member
Haven’t found a really good pizza joint since I moved back to Jacksonville last year. That said, I’ll eat damn near any pizza.

Nalt

Jul 23, 2020
Old Chicago Pizza. I've only ate at them out in Colorado Springs, CO but I think there is one in Chattanooga.

AlexDaGator

Founding Member
The Hammer of Thor
Lifetime Member
Jun 19, 2014
Founding Member
When I was a student, these were around a buck. If there was a pack of sliced cheese in the fridge, you could tear a slice into strips add them on top before cooking.

These were a staple when financial aid started running out and decisions had to be made. These along with ramen, store brand mac n cheese, and frozen burritos.

iu

That said, the best pizza is hot and fresh, especially NY style which lacks mass and has a large surface area so it loses heat quickly. I like them all, NY, Neapolitan, Chicago (which should be called pizza casserole, not pizza), Detroit, all of them, especially when they are hot and fresh.

One of my favorites is a Central Florida style that usually goes by the name Stavros but some places do similar pies as Manny's, Kelsey's, and Taki's. They are all over Daytona, Ormond, Leesburg, Eustis, New Smyrna, Port Orange, Merritt Island, etc.

It's a thicker pie, but not Chicago style. Not as thick as a pan pizza, and it's very crispy. It's kind of its own style.