Youth Football League

NVGator

Founding Member
Lifetime Member
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
I'm a novice at this so bare with me. I signed my boys up for Youth Football (SYFL - Sierra Youth Football League). I'm sure many of you have been through this before, multiple times. For those of you that may or may not know, I have 2 boys, 5 & 6.5. We participated in Indoor Flag Football a season and 1/2 go but now we are at full contact level. Tonight was the 1st of many "Conditioning Camps" and I've been recruited to be the Asst. Coach.

The good news is that our Head Coach is the current HC for the local HS Freshman team. He's been coaching for many years. He's been coach at different schools around the area at different levels (JV, Varsity, etc.) depending on schools.

What was really cool tonight is that they had the local HS team helping/participating with the youth team. The boys were showing the drills, demonstrating the form and taking down measurements from 40 time, to Broad Jump length, L Drills and such. I was the clipboard guy taking notes.

What was the most fun was talking with the Varsity HC who happens to be a huge Gator fan. He immediately too notice of my Gator tennis shoes and came over to chat with me. He loved my shoes and asked where I got them. We discussed Gator football for great lengths. He was in Gainesville for Spring Practice and talked about his entire experience. He really likes Mullen and thinks we are going to have a great year. He spoke highly of Franks and I kept my mouth shut.

He shared a quick story with me that none of you will know. His QB last year was Cade McNamara (Cade McNamara, 2019 Pro-style quarterback - Rivals.com) He EE at Michigan this past January. At one point Butters was recruiting for Florida and he was the closer for him at Michigan. Once Butters switched to CMU, he tried to get McNamara to flip but it didn't happen. Butters did sign his brother to CMU.