D.J. Humphries: "My pride won't let me be a bust."

oxrageous

Founding Member
It's Good to be King
Administrator
Jun 5, 2014
Founding Member
"I'm a professional football player. I can say that now, and I'm going to say it one more time: I'm a professional football player. This is all I ever wanted to do. I went to a great university. I hate to say it, but I didn't go there to go to school. I went there specifically for this day. So this is all a dream come true."

Swamp Donkey

Founding Member
7-14 vs P5 Fire Stricklin First
Lifetime Member
Jun 9, 2014
Founding Member
oxrageous;n218642 said:
Interesting. Why did he allow his pride to let him be a bust at UF?
It's good he's gone. Some cancers can't be fixed any other way.

Once the team quit in 2013, it was over. You don't "unquit". Once a group decides it's leader isn't worthy, you're done. It doesn't matter whether it's the military, business, or sports.

GatorJB

Founding Member
Lifetime Member
Jun 12, 2014
Founding Member
His potential is high, but he isn't ready to be an NFL starter. I don't care what the "experts" say, he should not have been a 1st round pick. Arizona will need to be patient with him if he's going to last there.

oxrageous

Founding Member
It's Good to be King
Administrator
Jun 5, 2014
Founding Member
GatorJB;n218667 said:
I don't care what the "experts" say, he should not have been drafted.
FIFY

LagoonGator68

Founding Member
mostly peaceful protester
Lifetime Member
Jun 12, 2014
Founding Member
[But that changes in the NFL, when low-burning fires are quickly extinguished by professional hit men — those frothing defensive linemen that would eat cinder block to get to a quarterback.
So why will Humphries be any different?
"Because I feel like I'm one of those mean men on the defense. I feel like I'm one of those guys," he said. "My pride won't let me be a bust. I'm a pretty prideful guy and I want to be the best. And that's all I ever wanted to be."]