Moving to Charlotte - Thoughts?

BostonGator84

Founding Member
Infrequent Frequenter
Jun 12, 2014
Founding Member
So I've only lurked for the past while - been a busy and stressful 2016 here. Long story short we plan to move to Charlotte in the fall - and I've only been there a couple times. Anyone have insight on the area, pros / cons etc? Any help would be greatly appreciated. PS I already know that Charlotte has a Publix and a Sonny's so I'm all set there :-) Thanks y'all!

Gatorbreath

Founding Member
The original "Breath" of the GCMB.
Lifetime Member
Jun 11, 2014
Founding Member
Well, based on recent news headlines, you may wish to avoid the public restrooms. :lmao2:

Aside from that, I've only been there a handful of times for business meetings, or connecting through their very nice airport. Not much insight to share, unfortunately.

Founding Member
Dazed and Confused
Lifetime Member
Jun 9, 2014
Founding Member
I've been trekking regularly to Charlotte for the over 30 years since my dad retired to Lake Wylie about 15 miles to the south. It's probably my favorite city. It's got a change of seasons without overly harsh winters, the people (esp the natives) are friendly and the neighborhoods range from antebellum to upscale modern. The roads are traditional English winding and confusing. The South Park, Old Providence and Myers Park areas off the downtown are personal favorites and offer a mix of majestic antebellum homes and fine shopping. Lake Norman's to the north and Asheville/Boone about 2 to 2 1/2 hours to the west and northwest. You're pretty much close to everything.

Based on the high growth rate, my guess is jobs growth is above the national average. The growth rate at the same time is a source of congestion and that can get a bit frustrating. The addition of the I-485 beltway has made getting around the city a lot easier.