Gator Recruiting Hurt By Paying Athletes Less Than Our Rivals?

ATXGator

Founding Member
Austin Gator
Lifetime Member
Jun 14, 2014
Founding Member
I'd prefer to be an outstanding academic institution than pay kids more for football. I want the team to do great, but I have a degree from UF and when people see that on my resume... the reputation of the school currently can help or hurt.

I'd prefer it to help.

RocketCityGator

In All Kinds of Weather
Lifetime Member
Aug 31, 2014
I'd prefer to be an outstanding academic institution than pay kids more for football. I want the team to do great, but I have a degree from UF and when people see that on my resume... the reputation of the school currently can help or hurt.

I'd prefer it to help.

Agreed, as much as I value Gator Football, I value my degree more.

BMF

Bad Mother....
Lifetime Member
Sep 8, 2014

I'd prefer it to help.

I live and work in the DC area. I can assure you a degree from UF means nothing. I have one and people ask me, "Is that the Seminoles?" Seriously. There are so many Ivy League educated people in this area, they do not care what school you went to.

Also, these kids that come to a UF or FSU or Alabama or Texas or Penn State or Ohio State or Auburn or Clemson or LSU or Miami, etc....do not care about their education. They want to get to "the league". Kids that go to Vandy or UVA or UNC or Navy or Stanford or Cal or Ga Tech, etc....they have a different mind set than the kids we're recruiting. There may be some minor overlap, but for the most part playing the "My UF degree is better than your degree" card is irrelevant here (and in most of the real world).

ChiefGator

A Chief and a Gator, Master of the Ignore list!!!!
Lifetime Member
Nov 9, 2015
I live and work in the DC area. I can assure you a degree from UF means nothing. I have one and people ask me, "Is that the Seminoles?" Seriously. There are so many Ivy League educated people in this area, they do not care what school you went to.