Advice for a disenchanted public school teacher

Born2beagator

Lifetime Member
Aug 30, 2014
I've been teaching in polk county public schools for near 9 years. I make 47,500. I currently pay rent with my parents at 800 dollars a month. Pretty good deal considering I get access to everything else and a nice house in a safe neighborhood. I assume eventually this house will be mine as I like where i live and don't intend to leave. I just started investing this year with my dad, I put 5000 dollars in an LLC to try and grow some money. don't know the name off the top of my head, would have to get the papers for you. But me and dad are investing together and he's a logistics guy and has been all his life in various companies so I trust him.

Lately I've been frustrated with increasing class sizes, and starting teachers making near as much as I do with no increase to my pay as a veteran, and it has me turning my attention to the future and being worried that I will not be able to survive on this paycheck.

Advice?

Altitude Gator

Lurking from Altitude
Lifetime Member
Aug 23, 2017
Sounds like the decision is difficult, but you either need to accept less money for better working conditions or find a different profession that pays better or stay miserable where you are.

Was in a similar situation in the past. Decided to change careers. Took time and money, but was the best choice.

Born2beagator

Lifetime Member
Aug 30, 2014
Sounds like the decision is difficult, but you either need to accept less money for better working conditions or find a different profession that pays better or stay miserable where you are.

Was in a similar situation in the past. Decided to change careers. Took time and money, but was the best choice.
Id be happier for sure. But 10k Less when I make 47k isn't practical.

Detroitgator

Lifetime Member
Jul 15, 2014