Anyone rolling IRA to a Roth now that market is down?

Discussion in 'Business, Investing & Finance' started by Bushmaster, Apr 1, 2020.

1. Bushmaster

Bushmaster Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
    $1,877
    Ratings:
    +1,953 / -120
    It hit me a little late that I might consider doing this for 2020. I have the ability to manipulate my income and the timing is right for this.

Also, with the passage that you can take up to $100,000 without the 10% penalty and pay the tax over 3 years, I have considered doing this and putting it into a Roth. I think the loophole will be closed on this one though. Some folks disagree that you can do this. I haven't read that closely on it but if it is allowed, expect that loophole to close.

2. EyeDocGator

EyeDocGator Politically Incorrect
    Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
    $5,411
    Ratings:
    +6,728 / -160
    I am rolling IRAs into Roth accounts. I've been doing it for a couple of years and will continue for a few more since I have huge charitable deductions that expire after 5 years. This puts me into the lowest bracket and decreases future taxes (God knows what the rate will be in a few years). I don't think the market being up or down is a factor for me.

3. AugustaGator

AugustaGator Junior Member
    Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
    $6,615
    Ratings:
    +8,997 / -374
    It will become taxable

4. Bushmaster

Bushmaster Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
    $1,877
    Ratings:
    +1,953 / -120
    Huh?

5. AugustaGator

AugustaGator Junior Member
    Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
    $6,615
    Ratings:
    +8,997 / -374
    The government is going to rescind that law and make the gains taxable.

6. no1g8r

no1g8r Bringing Reason to the Masses
    Lifetime Member

Oxbucks:
    $2,498
    Ratings:
    +2,564 / -77
    Unlikely anytime soon, but if they did, it is almost certain that existing contributions would be grandfathered in.

• FireFoley

FireFoley Senior Member
      Lifetime Member